I feel on steady ground relaying this letter sent to our parish because I wasn’t even at the Mass in question:

Dear Parishioners of St. Thomas More Parish,

… I attended the 9:30 am Mass on Sunday, July 1, 2007, at your parish. …

Thank you for welcoming me into your parish. I was impressed with your joyous singing. The music seemed to fill the church right up to the rafters. The homily was also inspiring.

… You are blessed to have such a large, active parish.

Much of the letter included personal details about this out-of-town visitor. I edited those out. I checked back to the musical selections: Community Mass, Hughes Alleluia, Gather psalm paraphrase, three fairly well-known hymns. Nothing particularly extraordinary. But it’s nice to work from the foundation of people generally singing, and singing with faith.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Liturgy, Parish Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Correspondence

  1. Gavin says:

    That’s nice. That’s a big part of why I like to use the Community Mass – it’s good and everyone knows it.

Leave a Reply

