Daily Archives: 29 December 2008

Divinum Mysterium

I first heard an arrangement of this plainsong hymn about twenty-five years ago. It remains a favorite, though I’ve yet to muster the nerve to introduce a new congregational piece during the Christmas season. Of the Father’s love begotten, Ere … Continue reading

Posted in Music | 4 Comments

Secrecy Above All

dotCommonweal notes this story on no phone-in or internet confessions for Coptic Christians. I noted the given reason in the press: Confessions over the telephone are forbidden, because there is a chance the telephones are monitored and the confessions will … Continue reading

Posted in Church News, Liturgy | 3 Comments

Psalm 97

Often lost in the psalmody of the season is the 97th psalm, assigned for the Mass at Dawn. I can attest that dawn in most Christian families is devoted to the ritual of jumping up and down on the parents’ … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgy, Scripture | Leave a comment

Catholic Culture, Quo Vadis?

My friend Lee asks a basic question that has occupied my pastoral ministry for the past ten years or more. I’m convinced that Catholic culture can be revived on the family and parish fronts, but it will take lots of … Continue reading

Posted in Ministry | 6 Comments

The Armchair Liturgist: Christmas, Mary and/or Peace

In my early Catholic days, I noticed the parish missalette contained a set of readings and prayers for a January 1 Mass for the World Day of Peace. I see the pope posts an annual message for the observance. I … Continue reading

Posted in The Armchair Liturgist | 8 Comments