Daily Archives: 2 August 2010

The Rice Path

Celebrity news usually holds very little interest for me. I tend to tune out when my wife or daughter start waxing enthusiastically about friends, their loves, their taste in saints or pop idols. I want to hear about my wife’s … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary | 2 Comments

The Armchair Liturgist: Variations in the General Intercession Responses

A request for August 15th came my way from my parish–this month’s writers of the prayers of the faithful: Todd, what would you think of after each petition either “Mary, Star of the Sea, pray for us” or “Mary, Queen … Continue reading

Posted in Parish Life, The Armchair Liturgist | 8 Comments

Unwelcome Touch and Enforcement

Many years ago, a pastor had to intervene with a retired priest who was an occasional presider at daily and Sunday liturgy. He gave off one of the clear warning signs. And the alert was just as much (if not … Continue reading

Posted in Ministry | Leave a comment

OCF 54-55: The Vigil

The next fifteen sections are an introduction to the “Vigil for the Deceased.” 54-56 cover the what, where, and when. 57-63 provide “structure and content.” 64-68 “ministry and participation.” Let’s take a double dip today and catch up from my … Continue reading

Posted in Order of Christian Funerals, post-conciliar liturgy documents, Rites | Leave a comment