Using the Bible for Iowa Politics

Jimmy Mac sent this news bit about one of my fellow Iowans to my attention.

You know, I confess a few guilty pleasures in my life. I like to watch and listen when non-scientists talk about science. Also cool is when the occasional out-of-depth fundamentalist tries to go Biblical. Iowa House candidate Jeremy Walters trots out Leviticus 20:13 but not for a statement about the death penalty. (More on that in a bit.) He wants to connect homosexuals, AIDS, and the notion that the innocent immoral suffer and the guilty go free are presidential contenders in Iowa.

Has Mr Walters drunk deeply of that Leviticus well, I wonder? Good to know he’s not out to put people to death, because I’m curious how he would confront this prominent American politician about his transgression of Leviticus 20:10.

Do Republicans who are concerned about Leviticus 20:13 show equal concern to follow this precept from the previous chapter? Do they eat their steaks well done? Should I even ask if they keep kosher?

My wife commented that the LDS missionaries were in the neighborhood the other night. I had a really nice conversation with them a few weeks ago. She noticed one guy pointing at our house and his companion shaking his head and gesturing in the other direction.

I know Jeremy Walters isn’t running in my state district, but all the same: I’d love to have him come by some evening. Kick back with a few cold ones and discuss the fine points of Leviticus 20 … and Leviticus 19 … and the rest of Mosaic Law. What would you think his chances would be?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Using the Bible for Iowa Politics

  1. Liam says:

    My father and I were the bane of door-to-door missionaries. We were in a very high majority Catholic neighborhood, and the missionaries must have thought it was low hanging fruit for lack of familiarity with the Bible, but my father was a German Catholic who read every day, et cet.

    A favorite tactic would be to ask them for their Bibles. And they’d show us their approved translation. Then we’d say, no, the Hebrew and Greek scrolls; what they had was an English translation, and how did they know it was an accurate translation, and furthermore did they know how and by whom and when its books were chosen? Et cet. We were fun, as you can see.

    There were times that my sister and I replied to the missionaries that we were Druids. Save the oaks! More fun.

  2. Patti says:

    I’m a Reformed Druid; I can pray in bushes ;>

  3. John Donaghy says:

    Jeremy Walters should have a lot of trouble with Iowa pork farmers, too.

Leave a Reply

