Daily Archives: 21 March 2011

More Than Bible “Study”

  I’d like to ask reader assistance on an upcoming commitment of mine. Our parish’s faith formation director asked me to hold a Bible study aimed at parents (during children’s religious ed classes) and students. I’ve been assigned two Wednesday … Continue reading

Posted in Parish Life, Scripture, spirituality | 3 Comments

GILM 67-68: Harmony

A bit more on the principle of harmony: 67. The best instance of harmony between the Old and New Testament readings occurs when it is one that Scripture itself suggests. This is the case when the doctrine and events recounted … Continue reading

Posted in General Introduction to the Lectionary, post-conciliar liturgy documents, Scripture | Leave a comment

Accusations

A prominent Catholic–not a bishop–is the target of accusations. Sex. Drugs. I hope it will all get sorted out. While I don’t care for the person’s cultivated style (I prefer friendship to hero-worship), I feel a degree of empathy. In … Continue reading

Posted in spirituality | 1 Comment