To The Clouds

Family has started to arrive in numbers, so I’m not planning to post again till late Sunday–if not Tuesday. Thanks for all the expressions of support and the promise of prayers by combox and e-mail.

I was reading through the BCP (1979) Psalter the other day, to see if a passage struck me as appropriate to set musically for my brother and the funeral. This section of Psalm 36 caught my eye:

5 Your love, O LORD, reaches to the heavens, *
and your faithfulness to the clouds.
6 Your righteousness is like the strong mountains,
your justice like the great deep; *
you save both man and beast, O LORD.
7 How priceless is your love, O God! *
your people take refuge under the shadow of your wings.
8 They feast upon the abundance of your house; *
you give them drink from the river of your delights.
9 For with you is the well of life, *
and in your light we see light.

Verse 8 suggests the Eucharistic faith so important to my brother. His pastor commented on verse 5 in connection with Lynn’s time in the Air Force and his love of planes. I’m fairly pleased with the setting, and maybe I’ll post it next week.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

