Funeral Lectionary Series

Starting soon, I’ll be posting funeral readings a few times each week. We did this earlier for wedding readings: note the link at the top of the page.

I’m hoping to convince Neil and perhaps a few others to take a reading and offer their own essay on it. I hope to offer some basic Scripture scholarship, with links to the needs of the liturgy and the pastoral ministry to mourners. You will be able to monitor our progress in the funeral lectionary through another designated page. As always your comments are encouraged and welcomed.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Order of Christian Funerals, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Funeral Lectionary Series

  1. FrMichael says:

    I never noticed the wedding readings link and commentary there. Did a quick perusal: looks good.

  2. Neil says:

    Thanks, Todd. I’ll do Acts 10:34ff

    Neil

  3. If you would consider accepting something from me, I would like to submit something. Please let me know Todd; I won’t be offended if you say no! Peace.

  4. Todd says:

    Draft posts are prepared for all the readings, so Fran and others–just email me what reading(s) you would like to write on. Liturgical, scholarly, spiritual, pastoral, or any combination of the above will be welcome. Consult the “Bible Readings for a Funeral” page for what has been linked and completed.

    FrMichael, Jimmy, Liam, what about you three?

    • Liam says:

      I’ve been recovering from a major car accident (a 30″ diameter ash tree fell across the front of my car on a state park road while I was driving to choir practice 3 weeks ago) and just trying to finish up with the immediate chaos resulting from that. But I think I would be up for something. I have think about the readings, especially the psalter (one of my complaints is that the given psalter omits some really lovely psalms, like Psalm 30).

  5. Todd says:

    Liam, prayers for your healing, my friend.

    Once we get through the Lectionary and Psalter as given, I would consider some posts on alternate readings: Ecclesiastes 3:1-11, Sirach 18:7-10, or Psalm 30.

  6. FrMichael says:

    Good Lord, Liam. Onto the prayer list you go!

    Todd, please give me a specific reading and I’ll get to work: I’m not picky. July is a good slow month to do a little extracurricular work. Plus my parish deacons are preaching at all Sunday Masses = 8 free hours this week.

  7. Todd says:

    FrMichael, thanks. How about Matthew 5:1-12a? How can we avoid it becoming a eulogy for the deceased? Just send me the essay by e-mail, and I’ll insert it in my draft.

  8. FrMichael says:

    Not having Mt 5 become a eulogy? That’s a tricky assignment. Will get to work on it Sunday afternoon. I’m a little down on my composition skills right now. My comments at the Deacon’s Bench about needed soul-searching in a diocese and seminary with a young priest who killed himself got interpreted as an attack on those with mental illness and rash judgment against the deceased. Grrrrrrr. For him I feel nothing but anguish and a deep desire to pray… the better side of priestly brotherhood.

  9. @Fr. Michael – I read your comment with interest, having participated in that thread. I mean you no ill will, in fact quite the contrary when I tell you that I interpreted your comments that way. Writing what we feel and think is a challenge. I am saddened about all of it.

  10. Liam says:

    There are homilists who are eager to avoid clarity in their preaching.

    There are homilists who are eager to embrace clarity in their preaching.

    Both can get in their own way: because that’s what cognitive and spiritual blindspots do for us!

    And, as the Catholic proverb says, the devil sends evil in pairs so that we may run from one to embrace the other.

    The first step is taking inventory when you are most tempted to choose which pole.

Leave a Reply

