Daily Archives: 4 September 2011

How I Won’t Celebrate 9/11

I was approached by a new student, trumpet player, today. He asked about getting involved in music ministry. He asked about next weekend’s liturgy, and wondered about playing “Taps” at Mass. I’m used to thinking on my feet. So it … Continue reading

Posted in Parish Life, Politics | 2 Comments

New Mass Settings Found Wanting

When we last left off, we were discussing my parish’s five Mass settings and what to implement with the new Roman missal. I posted that the Archdiocese of Dubuque has recommended five settings to consider: Community, revised, by Proulx Black … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgical Music, Parish Life | 8 Comments

Liturgiam Authenticam 60-61

Some musical considerations: 60. A great part of the liturgical texts are composed with the intention of their being sung by the priest celebrant, the deacon, the cantor, the people, or the choir. For this reason, the texts should be … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgiam Authenticam, post-conciliar liturgy documents | 1 Comment

Looks Like Normal

Played a wedding yesterday. A nice couple, perhaps above-average happy. The pastor’s homily was excellent, as usual. He often uses a familiar (to me) story from Anthony de Mello–and he did again yesterday. I find myself reflecting on my own … Continue reading

Posted in Commentary | Leave a comment