Daily Archives: 8 September 2011

A Reflection on Faith and 9/11

My colleagues in nearby Waterloo, Iowa, sent me a reflection for the coming anniversary. While I’m feeling a bit cynical about the whole deal from a political view, I do love Psalm 3 and Pope Benedict is no doubt a … Continue reading

Posted in Scripture, spirituality | Leave a comment

From Ambrosian Chant

One of my favorite tunes in By Flowing Waters is the Sanctus “in the Ambrosian style,” #609. It is just wonderful. Paul Ford told me the original is #46 in the Graduale Simplex. I would prefer using this chant over the Sanctus … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgical Music | 7 Comments

Liturgiam Authenticam 66-67

Lastly in our tour of liturgical texts, “The ‘Praenotanda’ and the texts of a rubrical or juridical nature.” Let’s read two sections today: 66. All parts of the various liturgical books are to be translated in the same order in … Continue reading

Posted in Liturgiam Authenticam, post-conciliar liturgy documents | Leave a comment

Sarcasm? Not Doing So Well Today

To their credit, some notable conservative commentators (like here, for example) have held their nose and turned their opposable digit toward the ground on the GOP applause for capital punishment. It will be interesting to see how the American Republibishops … Continue reading

Posted in Politics | Leave a comment