Multiple Motivations

As people feel free to inquire about my weight loss (diet, disease, or what?) I’ve had some opportunities to share my own motivations for losing weight. I’ve also heard other people who have spoken with me about the possibility of dieting. I was reflecting on that after I got home from the parish last night. Aside from one thing I hear repeatedly–it’s easier for men to lose weight than women–a few thoughts:

I don’t know about women losing weight. I’m not female, nor do I care to be one. I had multiple motivations for losing weight. That helped me a lot. When I was thinking one reason might not have been so great, I had other reasons to which to turn. In short:

  • I was getting tired of the ache in my calves and feet after the 27-minute walk between home and the parish.
  • I was alarmed at how heavy my footsteps were in the parish’s east balcony.
  • I couldn’t do the deep yoga bends any more.
  • I had to hold my breath to tie my shoelaces.
  • My pants looked really big when I wasn’t wearing them.
  • I confess I had strayed two pounds over the line from “overweight” into “obese.” Enough already!
  • I really objected to taking cholesterol medication. Hypertension–I’m okay with that. But not cholesterol. Too many &#%@ pills!
  • Every afternoon it seemed I was dying for a nap.
  • My late brother lost a lot of weight heading into knee surgery earlier this year. I decided to “dedicate” my diet to him and began the day after his funeral.
  • I want to be more active in my life and less tired and fatigued.
  • Do I really need to carry three bowling balls around with me wherever I go?
  • I start a lot of projects in mylife, but I don’t always follow through in good time. It’s time for something at which I can succeed.

As the weight came off, I liked watching the number on the scale go down. I liked dropping one, two, then three belt notches. I liked bagging up old clothes and donating them. I liked the feeling of floating one night when I walked home and I was barely winded, despite a pretty fast pace. I thought I noticed a single parishioner looking me over last month. That was slightly creepy, but when I told my wife and sister-in-law, they both laughed. Long and loud. Okay, that’s motivational, too.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Multiple Motivations

  1. Michael says:

    What did you do to do it? It seems to have worked quite well, and I’d love to lose what you’ve lost. Tips, please!

  2. crystal says:

    The times when I’ve intentionally lost weight, I think one of the biggest motivations was one you mentioned – it was something I could actually control, when there are so many things in life that are out of my control.

  3. Todd, I am a woman, and actually like being one! That said, I love your list. As a “woman of a certain age,” in my case, closer to 54 than not, I find that it has become significantly harder to lose weight.

    Of all the things on your list, many of which I could relate to – being winded, looking at my clothes when not in them (so big!) and other matters, it is the last one that shook me. That is a BIG problem for me. (About that funeral reading reflection that you and I exchanged emails about…) That one is really big and I find that some things in my life seem to be coming more clear as I lose weight. I am starting to focus more and that is a big benefit, not weight related!

    This past week was a food disaster for me. I find that – and this is after numerous weight loss journeys in my life – I simply don’t have the “taste” to return to that stuff all the time any more. One night is fine – no “craving” for it the next day. I say that as I am eating some soup for dinner, before heading out to church. Low sodium soup. If I ate soup at this hour before, it would be an appetizer of sorts and low sodium… What? Yet here I am and not unhappy.

    Thanks Todd. You were actually have a part in my own motivation. That is community. I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

