The Armchair Liturgist: Eliciting MR3 Pew Responses

My favorite MR3 response:

And also with your spirit.

No really. I’ve said that more than the old and the new combined.

My wife reports she got a dirty look (?!) for uttering “and also with you” out of step from most of the rest of the assembly.

I was reading on a blog or two about how disappointed one or two commenters are that Father isn’t stepping in to correct “wrong” responses when they happen. Personally, I’d investigate putting electric buzzers in the pews. That’d shock those pew potatoes into MR3, by gum.

All kidding aside, how would you handle “wrong” responses from the purple chair of authority? Screw ars celebrandi and be stern at every opportunity? Trust your preparation and pew cards will eventually be enough? Three strikes and then give ‘em hell on Advent IV? Hope the problem goes away? Do tell.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in The Armchair Liturgist. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Armchair Liturgist: Eliciting MR3 Pew Responses

  1. Our pastor (a young guy) has been patient and gracious — especially with himself!

    (I serve occasionally at our evening Mass; last week, after washing his hands before the EP, he looked at me and whispered with a half-smile: “Well, that wasn’t right!”)

  2. Mike K says:

    Be nice and relax. Laugh at one another’s mistakes. Gently correct each other. And that goes for priest and congregation.

    (BTW: might sound like marriage advise, too.)

  3. Liam says:

    Back in 1970, I don’t recall anything active other than patience being employed. It took a while, but people didn’t have the expectation of instantaneousness that we have today, perhaps.

  4. FrMichael says:

    I’m personally still striking out a lot with “And with your spirit” when the deacon proclaims the Gospel. I’ve made up my own response: “And also…with your spirit.” A bit of humor goes a long way here.

    Overall, the change has been quite quick, and this in a parish where the majority of the adults are ESL. The main sticking points: the Confiteor, “It is right and just,” and “…Under my roof…” Priests and deacons are also a little unsure how to end the Mass.

    Also discovered in the course of this process that the Filipino Missals (Tagalog, Ilocano, etc.) have apparently been translated “And also with you,” for the past generation. I take it that their next revisions will be extensive as well.

  5. Marilyn says:

    Well, it’s embarrassing when our pastor picks up the prompt card and waves it over his head at us when we pray the old words. I just dare anyone to say my prayer is ‘wrong’…I’m trying to keep quiet until the words soak in but will accidentally let loose a familiar response!

  6. Jimmy Mac says:

    Pew potatoes! I love it and wonder where I have heard it before.

    And with your many spirits – but not all, at least not under my roof consubstantially.

    Did I miss anything?

  7. FrMichael says:

    Jimmy Mac, how about riffing on the “right and just?” Another troublesome response– in praxis, not in translation.

Leave a Reply

