The Glory of the Father

In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God. All things came into being through him, and without him not one thing came into being. What has come into being in him was life, and the life was the light of all people. The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness did not overcome it. (John 1:1-5, NRSV)

For Christmas reflection, I thought I’d link one of many versions of this choral chestnut from the pen of Egil Hovland. When I did it with an even smaller choir a dozen years ago, we took it a bit more uptempo. But I think the high school people in the video have a better blend and diction. There’s just something sparkling about young voices. I can say that with double sincerity as I’ve nearly lost mine this week and I’m grateful I don’t have to sing at all this weekend.

Posting likely scarce the next two days or three. Two winter bugs have been making their way through the family unit. The young miss and I have been exceedingly generous to one another and to my wife the past nine or ten days. Family sharing: isn’t it great?

Also great is having only three liturgies to oversee this weekend. The young miss and I may have the time and energy to finally put up the Christmas tree this morning. Our other family member has been hit particularly hard by the flu. We were invited to my sister-in-law’s for Christmas dinner, but I’m afraid that hour-long drive might not come to pass. I’m feeling better for the first time in days, and I even managed to bake a loaf of bread yesterday. I feel sure I have the energy for two liturgies today, but I’ve never spent any part of a Christmas apart from my wife. If need be, I’ll hit the store on the way home tomorrow and muster up a chicken dinner.

Meanwhile, let a medieval monastic antiphon echo through your Christmas celebrations:

Let us dance with delight in the Lord and let our hearts be filled with rejoicing, For eternal salvation has appeared on the earth, alleluia.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Music, Parish Life, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Glory of the Father

  1. Liam says:

    A merry Christmas to you and yours.

    The Hovlund is a wonderful piece; he had the wisdom not to try to compete with the text, just to make it shine. It should be a better known work.

    I spend this holyday with my parents, and then head to Rochester on Monday for the rest of the week with my brother and his partner in Mendon.

  2. Lovely piece – thank you.

    May you all have every blessing of Christmas and the blessing of restored health. I’m sorry you all have been unwell.

    Peace and good to you always; thank you for all that you do.

  3. crystal says:

    Todd, Merry Christmas to you and your family and pets :)

Leave a Reply

