An Observance

Observe the holiday honoring a great American with a listen.

… and a reflection from our pastor’s homily this past weekend, when Dr King’s family was threatened* with violence:

In this state of exhaustion, when my courage had almost gone, I determined to take my problem to God. My head in my hands, I bowed over the kitchen table and prayed aloud. The words I spoke to God that midnight are still vivid in my memory.

“I am here taking a stand for what I believe is right. But now I am afraid. The people are looking to me for leadership; and if I stand before them without strength and courage, they, too, will falter. I am at the end of my powers, I have nothing left. I’ve come to the point where I can’t face it alone.”

At that moment, I experienced the presence of the Divine as I had never before experienced him. It seemed as though I could hear the quiet assurance of an inner voice saying:

“Stand up for righteousness. Stand up for truth. God will be at your side forever.”

Almost at once, my fears began to pass from me. My uncertainty disappeared. I was ready to face anything. The outer situation remained the same, but God had given me inner calm.

Psalm 40 strikes me as a perfect complement to this, the first five verses, which give a lift at the end:

I waited patiently for the Lord;
he inclined to me and heard my cry.
He drew me up from the desolate pit, out of the miry bog,
and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.
He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord.
Happy are those who make the Lord their trust,
who do not turn to the proud, to those who go astray after false gods.
You have multiplied, O Lord my God,
your wondrous deeds and your thoughts toward us;
none can compare with you.
Were I to proclaim and tell of them,
they would be more than can be counted. (Ps 40:1-5)

Have a blessed day, filled with more than just leisure. Honoring Martin Luther King should be about more than time off to watch tv or get relief from classes. What Scriptures do you think fit the man?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Parish Life, Scripture, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

