On Being a Chicago Catholic

I just watched an old friend compete on Jeopardy today. My wife called and said I had to get to a tv. So I barged in on the students  who live in the peer minister suite. To give you a bit of background, she was in one of my choirs in a parish in the northwest suburbs of Chicago. She’s one of the smartest, funniest, and most loyal friends I know. Twice this afternoon I jumped out of my the students’ chair.

The first was when she drew a “4-N” answer about a church feast that falls on March 25th. If she misses this question, I told my friends, I’d see to her excommunication personally.

Final Jeopardy was “Sports in the Movies,” and the answer dealt with the address the Blues Brothers gave in the movie. I laughed my head off on that one. You live in Chicago and you know what’s on North Addison Avenue. And if you don’t know, you’re a darned Yankee fan.

What a blessed existence, to win at Jeopardy.

I have three students to train as lectors during air time tomorrow. Alas.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Games. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Being a Chicago Catholic

  1. crystal says:

    When my mom was alive I used to watch Jeopardy every night with her :)

    I’m reading a series of books that take place in Chicage and they mention St. Mary of the Angels church often.

Leave a Reply

