RDCA II, 12-13: Dedication Liturgy of the Word

The Liturgy of the Word always leads off with the reassembled people of Israel listening to the Law for the first time in their lives:

12. Three readings are used in the liturgy of the word. The texts are chosen from those in the Lectionary (nos. 704 to 706) for the rite of the dedication of a church.

The first reading is always, even during the Easter season, the passage of Nehemiah that tells of the people of Jerusalem gathered in the presence of the scribe Ezra to hear the proclamation of the law of God (Neh 8:1-4a, 5-6, 8-10).

FYI, this passage is also proclaimed on the Third Sunday in Ordinary Time.

13. After the readings the bishop gives the homily, in which he explains the biblical readings and the meaning of the dedication of a church.
The profession of faith is always said. The general intercessions are omitted, since the Litany of the Saints is sung in their place.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in Minnesota, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Rite of Dedication of a Church and an Altar, Rites. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s