Daily Archives: 7 November 2012

Bishops and Losses

I saw the press release of Archbishop Dolan’s congratulations to the president. Gracious, yet firm, and striking for one point: We pray, too, that you will help restore a sense of civility to the public order, so our public conversations … Continue reading

Posted in bishops, Politics | 12 Comments

Built of Living Stones 149: Worthy Art

§ 149 § Worthy art is an essential, integral element in the sacred beauty of a church building. Through skilled use of proportion, shape, color, and design, art unifies and helps to integrate the place of worship with the actions … Continue reading

Posted in Built of Living Stones, USCCB documents | 1 Comment

Taking Heart

Recently I was researching a bit into my daughter’s heart condition. In previous generations, she would have been like Pearl. There were no reconstructive surgeries possible, and she would have died long before she was ever available for adoption. I never … Continue reading

Posted in My Family, spirituality | 2 Comments

The Sun Rose Bright Post-Election

It did, literally. In my own backyard. Election Day was a thrill from a civic viewpoint. I arrived at the polling place at 6 o’clock and joined six other workers for a seventeen-hour day. My precinct (I worked my own home … Continue reading

Posted in Miscellaneous | 1 Comment

Evangelii Nuntiandi 74: Interior Attitudes

Pope Paul begins to address the final theme of this document. We’re not talking about specifics. There are no programs. No vetted speakers. No founding of schools or internet sites, and no special “year” is being called. I think there’s … Continue reading

Posted in Evangelii Nuntiandi, evangelization | Leave a comment