A Unique North American Map

Can you imagine a map on which every person counted in the 2010-2011 US and Canadian censuses is represented by a dot? I found the tip on the Universe Today blog. Check it out here.

When I zoomed in on my town, I could make out a small cluster of three dots just southwest of the blank space that is our neighborhood shopping center. That’s us! I remarked to the young miss.

(grunt)

Two observations:

That spread from Atlanta to Raleigh looks like a budding megalopolis.

Zooming in, one can see parks, rivers, industrial complexes, and even malls. I noticed the densely-populated student dorms just north of Campustown. Also the dot-free athletic complexes and academic areas.

Can you find your neighborhood?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Unique North American Map

  1. Bari Colombari says:

    Maybe it’s just me, but I could not discern a link in your posting. So, after consulting Google, I found this link:
    http://bmander.com/dotmap/index.html

    Thanks for your ongoing “Blogistry” (Blogging Ministry)!
    -bari

Leave a Reply

