On The Road, Again

Hitting the road in a few hours. The young miss gets a cardiology check-up in Kansas City twice a year, and tomorrow morning is the first of these in 2013. That these fall during the school year is a slight annoyance. Why hasn’t my wife and the doctor scheduled one of these during the summer? It doesn’t ever seem right to drive four hours for a two-hour appointment, then turn around and drive back. There’s so much fun to be found in our former city. I was hoping for a ball game tonight. My wife has arranged a stay with some old friends, so I think a quiet evening catching up seems more to everyone else’s liking. Boo.

Unforeseen six months ago was the troubling front of bad weather in the American Midwest. I never like driving in heavy rain. Last night I suggested openly that maybe if the weather was atrocious this afternoon, maybe we just leave early early Wednesday morning instead. My spouse nixed that idea–and she’s right: it will be good to spend time with friends. Besides, Royals-Twins will be a rainout. Boo.

Also unforeseen was Confirmation rehearsal tomorrow night. So there will be no dilly-dallying after the doc gives us the clean bill of health. We’ll have time for a meal on the road. But no real visiting with friends. And guess who gets to do the lion’s share of driving. Boo.

At the parish’s lectio divina this morning, we prayed through just the end portion of this coming Sunday’s Gospel (see all the readings here). The end portion struck me, after Jesus and Peter complete their threefold dialogue of “Do you love me/You know I do.”

Amen, amen, I say to you, when you were younger,
you used to dress yourself and go where you wanted;
but when you grow old, you will stretch out your hands,
and someone else will dress you
and lead you where you do not want to go.”
He said this signifying by what kind of death he would glorify God.
And when he had said this, he said to him, “Follow me.”

I was feeling out of sorts this morning. The seemingly endless exile away from the fire, a rather long and seemingly pointless meeting at church last night, almost 500 miles behind a steering wheel in the next thirty hours. What’s not to be annoyed about?

And yet, the message seemed clear as I heard these words this morning. When I offer my hands in love, in service, I am led to places I don’t want to go. Even if I’m not quite able to articulate my dissatisfaction logically or otherwise, I still see it. Jesus urging “Follow me” seems less nebulous after Good Friday. We all know now where this will lead. We know now.

I think about my wife’s stress with her sister’s situation and my daughter’s worries about just being a teenager. I can strive to make this trip a pleasant one, and blend my “Boo” out of the picture mostly. It will be a gray enough day. This is one of those episodes where it seems appropriate to subsume my dissatisfaction, and look at the bigger picture, the better picture.

Besides, my wife will ask me, “Do you love me?”

And I know what my answer will be.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Lectio Divina, Ministry, My Family, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On The Road, Again

  1. David D. says:

    Prayers for good results from the check-up and a safe trip.

Leave a Reply

