Talk, Believe, Work

It isn’t enough to talk about peace. One must believe in it. And it isn’t enough to believe in it. One must work at it.

pink-peace-craneThis quote is attributed to Eleanor Roosevelt. I don’t know the context of it. I do know that she was a conscience in the White House during those very dark days of world war.

This is a good litany to remember. Some of us don’t even get to the point of talking about peace. We assume the state of the world is war, and that such strife can never be overcome.

Sometimes we chatter on about peace, but we do it in a superficial way. Sometimes peace merely means the freedom to do as we wish without being inconvenienced by people who might object to greed, selfishness, or other indulgences that come roaring through instead of the words of peace.

Real peace means real work. When I work, perhaps I exert a bit. When I work sweat drips down my back, and I find myself fatigued. When I work for a long time, sometimes I make a mistake in my weariness. If so, does frustration and anger well up inside me, further undoing the whole point of my labors in the first place?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in Peace, Scripture and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

