#addawordruinahymn

I have a Twitter thing, but you don’t see it in the margin; I mainly use it for the parish liturgy. And not all that much. I missed a lot of the fuss this week on #addawordruinahymn. It looked mostly Protestant to me–titles I would see at my mom’s church.

I can only imagine if Catholics got hold of this thing for comtemporary songs. Or, heaven help us, for Latin hymnody. I’m sure there must be at least two or three Latinists in the world that could devise devastating and irreverent additions in the Language of the Church.

Here are a few, in various categories:

  • Soul Train of my Savior
  • Dishpanis Angelicus
  • Dies Irae Glass (a theme for This Catholic Life?)
  • Sacra Strawberry Jam Splendent

Keeping things reasonably civil, how would you add a word?

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in humor, Liturgical Music. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #addawordruinahymn

  1. John Donaghy says:

    This isn’t in the style, but one old rewrite of a hymn is “We are cold, we are frozen, we are stuck to one another.” So I dare anyone to try to sing “We are called, we are chosen” with out thinking of these words!

Leave a Reply

