Otoconia

I learned what otoconia are today.

My wife was diagnosed with Benign Paroxysmal Positional Vertigo and had her first treatment today. No reclining, laying down, bending over, or moving the head too much for eight hours. (Do these rocks re-attach?)

She still has this condition too. I don’t know how otolaryngologists sort this out. Hopefully they can help her get better.

I spent the day at home caring for the patient. If things get better, I’ll switch out and work on my day off tomorrow and catch up for the weekend’s activities.

Meanwhile, otoconia for my spouse.

About catholicsensibility

Todd and his family live in Ames, Iowa. He serves a Catholic parish of both Iowa State students and town residents.
This entry was posted in My Family, Science and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Otoconia

  1. Healing prayers and wishes from here!

  2. I had this about three years ago. The office treatment did the trick and I’ve not had a recurrence since then. Be sure of my prayers!

  3. Liam says:

    My mother has long had a vestibular balance disorder, though not Ménière’s disease. I don’t recall the specific diagnosis, but it hasn’t prevented her from nearing 90 (though it has made life difficult at this stage in combination with other ailments). Mamie Eisenhower had Ménière’s disease, IIRC, and was cruelly mocked in some quarters for being what might then have been called a dyspsomaniac.

  4. Anne says:

    My husband and I have had episodes of benign positional vertigo. It’s extremely upsetting and uncomfortable…even frightening. Prayers for your wife.

  5. Lee says:

    In my prayers.

Leave a Reply

