Daily Archives: 22 November 2013

Some Upcoming Documents

I’m glad to announce that my friend John Donaghy has agreed to walk us through the Aparecida document composed by the bishops of Latin America in 2007. I think we’ll see a kickoff post this weekend followed by regular updates. … Continue reading

Posted in 2007 Aparecida document, Evangelii Gaudium | 1 Comment

Gibson on USCCB on ACA

David Gibson rounds up various post-B16 reactions of the USCCB to the Affordable Care Act. (I don’t use the nickname, be advised.) I always found the threat/promise to go to jail somewhat laughable. Especially given how a bishop or two really … Continue reading

Posted in Politics | Tagged , , | 1 Comment

Mediator Dei 29-30

Pope Pius XII was concerned about those two branches of piety, especially that non-Eucharistic devotion would somehow be sidelined by a renewed emphasis on the centrality and efficacy of the Eucharist: 29. It is an unquestionable fact that the work … Continue reading

Posted in Mediator Dei, pre-conciliar documents | Leave a comment

Kennedy Remembered

I have no memory of this day fifty years ago. My parents were both Roosevelt Democrats so it seems likely they both voted for and supported the president in the 1960 elections. But I don’t recall anything of their reaction to … Continue reading

Posted in coins, US History | Tagged | 7 Comments