Daily Archives: 1 July 2014

EG 217-219: The Common Good and Peace in Society

Let’s look at three sections of¬†Evangelii Gaudium. In this subsection of chapter Four, we’ll start looking at “The Common Good and Peace in Society.” This topic will cover twenty-one numbered sections–that looks like about two weeks of posts. 217. We … Continue reading

Posted in Evangelii Gaudium, evangelization | Tagged | Leave a comment

Making Apologies and Amends

Two things I noticed in recent news. First, a rather uncharacteristic apology from a celebrity. Why uncharacteristic? Not because of the man giving it. I noticed the refreshingly direct language: I deeply regret … I apologize … I vow … … Continue reading

Posted in bishops, spirituality, Sports | Leave a comment

Two Weeks of Worthy Women: Marguerite Bourgeoys

Our neighbors to the north celebrate their national day today, and I couldn’t think of a more worthy woman to mention than the founder of the¬†Congregation of Notre Dame of Montreal. Marguerite was born in France, and around age twenty … Continue reading

Posted in Saints, Two Weeks of Worthy Women | Leave a comment