Interstellar

interstellar posterThe young miss gifted me with Interstellar last Sunday. She didn’t watch it with me and my wife. I’ve been looking forward to this movie for months, and I’ve been scrupulously avoiding any spoilage.

I don’t need to give away any serious plot things in the following comments:

The visual aspect of the film is remarkable. No complaints on the presentation of science and aerospace engineering. I liked the visual homages to sf films of history.

I found the father-daughter relationship poignant, given the gift and the day. I think the writing could have been better on that point. I think the premise is good: an astronaut father leaves his family for years, and how the children deal with that. The bitterness was one-dimensional; ironic for a work that explores the fourth dimension. I think writer/director had actors who could handle nuance–the people-to-people writing wasn’t quite up to the visuals.

And while I said the visual presentation of the science was good, there was a little too much magicalism. I think the writers would have had to change the story a good bit, but the essence of deep space adventure would be intact.

The end result is a memorable and thoughtful film that’s almost outstanding. Too many otherwise great science fiction films have flaws. I can’t recall any near-perfect piece of filmmaking in the genre. This one’s very good. Well worth watching.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in film, science fiction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interstellar

  1. charlesincenca says:

    Good call on the “magicalism,” Todd. I wouldn’t say that Nolan employed it as the last refuge of a scoundrel, but as a deus ex machine fo’ sho’. Not up to “Inception” for tautness. Touched some raw moral nerve with the one astronaut who went rogue. Nice that the young miss presented it to you. Give call when things are quiet.

Leave a Reply

