Swans Strong and Stable

swan-in-attack-mode-2Some heartening news bits out of South Wales the past few days. An expectation that Swansea City will be at their all-time strongest heading into the new season next month. I dreamed the other night I was working hard at my new position and I suddenly realized it was August 10th, and I had missed the Swans opener at Chelsea.

A good summer for Jonjo Shelvey: getting married and then signing on for four years with his club. His comments to the press:

I’ve found a club that is a superb place to play your football.

I’ve not regretted the move once since I left (Liverpool), and now I’ve signed for four more years I can’t wait to kick on.

I hadn’t realized he had been signed from Liverpool. With Steven Gerrard departing, I wonder if that team has anybody at midfield ready to fill the gap. Maybe the Swans will finish ahead of Liverpool this coming season.

I also have to say Jonjo really straightened out his game from a clownish down point versus his old team. I like to see players buckle down and flourish with hard work.

Hoping for a good season ahead. I may be 1800 miles farther away from Wales, but I will still be rooting for my favorite overseas club.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Swans Strong and Stable

  1. David D. says:

    One day following Stevie G’s MLS debut, LFC have lost still another star though for the price of Swans’ entire first XI.

    http://www.walesonline.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/liverpool-fcs-raheem-sterling-49m-9641040?

  2. Todd says:

    I read about the Sterling transfer. The big six don’t often seem to get astronomical value for their top signings. I don’t think the new tv contract for the PL is going to fix that. Hopefully, it will level the playing field even more for the other 14.

  3. David D. says:

    Well, this was an astronomical signing and in fact the largest transfer fee for an English player. Here’s interesting take from a Swans perspective.

    http://theswanseaway.co.uk/2015/07/49mil-for-raheem-sterling-the-more-man-city-et-al-drive-prices-up-the-more-we-prosper/?

Leave a Reply

