Minus Decades

Looking back on a bit of personal history. Ten years ago this month on this site. A kitchen remodeling at our last house. Some nice vacation time. I wasn’t posting on church documents every day, but Vatican II here had already begun. I notice I don’t share as much personal stuff with you readers as I did then. A lot more links to other people’s blogs. I guess I was reading a lot more stuff online back then. Today, not nearly as much. I feel more reticent about divulging personal things here. Caution or maturity: you decide.

Looking farther back in history, my wife and I were engaged on this date twenty years ago. It was a very hot, but happy day.

Thirty years ago, I was studying composition and piano and doing an independent study at summer school while thinking which Master’s Degree I wanted to pursue: theology or music. Or maybe both.

Forty years ago I was on vacation from high school, and my summer job was painting the parish’s eight-car garage. And selling candy and soda at church bingo.

Half a century ago, I’m sure I was alive, but I recall nothing about that summer after kindergarten.

The passage of time: it’s all a blink to God, but it seems like a very long stretch of days to me.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Minus Decades

  1. Melody says:

    I was recently looking at a picture of myself as a four year old flower gjirl at my cousin’s wedding. The scary part is it was 60 years ago. And it seems like it was only yesterday.

Leave a Reply

