Checklist

When I’ve moved to a new place, I have a small checklist of things to do. By the end of next week, I’ll be starting mine. Assuming all the utilities are turned on, and all the essentials get done, here’s what I want to accomplish after we move, in this order:

  • library card
  • register to vote
  • auto-withdrawal for church offerings

I remember delaying my voter registration after I moved to Virginia until the 8th of October. There was a thirty-day waiting period, so I missed my first presidential election ever. I was pretty steamed. If I had wanted to buy a gun, there would have been no such wait.

Anybody else have a “non-essential” on their list? Something they just have to get done?

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Checklist

  1. Liam says:

    You’ve got to register the car(s), get in-state auto insurance, deal with health insurance exchanges, any professional licensures, tenant’s insurance (assuming you’re renting rather than owning), find doctors/dentists, et cet.

  2. Jim McCrea says:

    Find a good local coffee shop ………. NOT BigStar!

  3. Devin says:

    Not in order of importance 1) hiking trails, 2) coffee shop, more for reading, 3) library card, 4) a local pub, 5) a parish to join

Leave a Reply

