Monday Opening

Priscacara_liops_Green_River_FormationHere’s a good summary of evolution in this BBC feature. To the east of me, lots of fossil finds, like this fish, right, from Wyoming.

In reading up on natural wonders in my new state, I learned that native legends told of a lake at the Mt Rainier summit. There is geological evidence for such a thing.

Mount_Rainier_over_TacomaThis is mostly how the mountain looks from my location across the Puget Sound from Seattle, only Tacoma is well under the horizon and most of the mountain heights are not.

My wife picked up this fine book on the centennial of the nation park. Fabulous photography and a poetic and informative text.

I’m interested in learning more about the geology of this part of the state. I know I’m living on land that was a few hundred miles off the Eocene coast of North America. In other words, well into the Pacific Ocean of 40 million years ago. And yet I’m surrounded by mountains. Isn’t that a wonder?

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in On My Bookshelf, open thread, Science and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Monday Opening

  1. crystal says:

    Welcome to out west :)

  2. Liam says:

    Here’s a wonder from the Atlantic pond: Spain’s highest mountain – Tenerife, in the Canary Islands (about 2200ft/700m shorter than Mt Rainier) – snow-covered at 28N latitude:

  3. J.V. says:

    Puget Sound! Seattle! Rainer! That photo is a sight for sore eyes. I lived in Seattle about 15 or 16 years ago. I’ve hoped to go back ever since – life had other ideas.

Leave a Reply

