Misa en Español

My experience for the parish’s 4pm Mass is reminiscent of going to Mass before I became Catholic in 1969, or when I went to Mass at the Newman Community in college. Every week most all of the songs are new. Each Mass one song stands out among the rest. And like 1969 when I was unfamiliar with the Bible, I’m largely going on the music.

It is interesting to pray, or try to pray, with songs that I can play and look up, or sing and have my nose stuck in the book. Since playing is more fun (and more needed, since they have about a dozen singers) I opt for the latter. I try to discern the song title before I peek at the translation with the copyright notice. There seemj to be a lot of psalm settings in the resource Flor y Canto, unless it’s just that the choir director chooses these.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Liturgical Music, Spanish. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

