Open Thread: Post 12000

computer_monitorA few words on this site. When I posted the Psalm 119 piece I wrote up last week, I hadn’t realized it would be one short of a milestone. And since I thought I nice round number deserved a notice of some kind, I thought I’d pair #12k with an update for you readers. And an open thread.

Today I found four old Reconciliation readings without links, so I fixed that. Two from 2013 and two from earlier this summer. Huh. That leaves ten readings and ten psalms to go in that, um, effort. My aim is to complete by Lent 2016, then leave the three pages for weddings, funerals, and penance for seekers. About 90 percent of the traffic on this site seems to be people looking to plan their nuptials or a funeral liturgy.

As for those twenty essays on the Reconciliation Lectionary, Liam has a standard offer to write up any of them, especially the psalms. Perhaps one or the other of certain readers, too, have mentioned the two Hosea entries or Romans 6. You might find a few citations without hyperlinks here. Somebody make me an offer I can’t refuse on those unlinked citations.

I’m still leaning to a gradual shutdown here sometime in 2016. I don’t think you will be seeing 150 posts in a month again. Quite honestly, I don’t know how some of the most active Catholic bloggers do ten a day. There are times when I think I’m stretching it to put up some of the things I’ve written. I know I’ve been more selective the past few years.

I also learned last week that one of my writing gigs outside the blogosphere is coming to an end. I’m looking for something a bit different–something I can still squeeze into my open time, especially early morning. With the young miss now in college and my wife already branching out into some new activities here in the Northwest, I suppose I could play more online backgammon. Or I could get a little more serious about the upgrade from pajama writing to professional.

That’s about it from the “blah, blah, blah” corner tonight. Any thoughts? Any other writers out there with interesting things to say or links to share?

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

