Weekend Football

I think David is the only one who follows these posts on football. I’ve been struggling with the Swans for a whole month. Manager Garry Monk was pleased with the effort in yesterday’s 2-2 result, but I think two of his key players were nearly invisible, especially on the attack.

After church, I picked up the family and we went to the Sounders big match against the LA Galaxy. I think it was David who asked me to compare MLS with the English Premier League, and I found it hard to do two, three years ago.

Yesterday we had upper deck seats at the stadium, and I was watching things network cameras don’t show as they follow the ball on tv broadcasts. It was interesting to see how the two teams switch formations when moving from defense to possession and back again.

The interesting difference I noticed is that MLS play with the ball was not as crisp as what I see from just about every PL team. They flashed stats at the end of the Sounders match and passing accuracy for both teams was just about 75%. A key MLS match-up between two of the better teams, and live, it didn’t match the excitement I see from, say, Everton-Liverpool this weekend.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Sports and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekend Football

  1. Brendan Kelleher svd says:

    I also enjoy your comments on the English Premiere League. All the towns I lived in in my younger days, till I came to Japan in 1975 after ordination, are lower down the ranks, known to drop out out the League, or are non-league clubs.
    Here in Japan I follow both our local professional footbal (Soccer) team, the Nagoya Grampus Eight – they tend to end up mid-table in J-League I, and our professional baseball team, the Chunichi Dragons – they are owned by the largest local newspaper and media group; they are one of six teams in what is known as the Central League. They are currently in last place with only a handful of games left to play. The Central League is dominated by the Tokyo Yomiuri Giants, also known as “Kyojin”. Owned by one of Japan’s largest national media groups they have unlimited resources at their disposal.
    By the way I learnt the rules of baseball while watching the annual Summer Senior High School Baseball Tournament – it is a “national institution” almost, with ball by ball coverage of all the games on the national broadcaster NHK. Most top ranking Japanese baseball players are scouted after making their mark in the summer tournament.
    (When not following sports, having retired from school work for health reasons, along with some pastoral work among the migrant community, I work as a translator and editor and head the diocesan liturgy commission; i always enoy your liturgy posts, and your comments on Vatican documents.)

Leave a Reply

