“Christmas that lasts forever”

220px-Candle_on_Christmas_tree_3From Karl Rahner’s The Eternal Year:

Now God says to us
What He has already said to the earth as a whole
Through His grace-filled birth:

I am there. I am with you.
I am your life. I am your time.
I am the gloom of your daily routine. Why will you not hear it?
I weep your tears – pour yours out to me.
I am your joy.
Do not be afraid to be happy; ever since I wept, joy is the standard of living
That is really more suitable than the anxiety and grief of those who have no hope.

I am the blind alley of all your paths,
For when you no longer know how to go any farther,
Then you have reached me,
Though you are not aware of it.

I am in your anxiety, for I have shared it.
I am in the prison of your finiteness,
For my love has made me your prisoner.

I am in your death,
For today I began to die with you, because I was born,
And I have not let myself be spared any real part of this experience.

I am present in your needs;
I have suffered them and they are now transformed.

I am there.
I no longer go away from this world.
Even if you do not see me now, I am there.

My love is unconquerable.
I am there.
It is Christmas.
Light the Candles! They have more right to exist than all the darkness.
It is Christmas.
Christmas that lasts forever.

Found here. Image credit here.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Christmas, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Christmas that lasts forever”

  1. Joyce Donahue says:

    Thank you, Todd. That is so beautiful. I had never seen it. A blessed Christmas – and may God continue to call you to new ways share your gifts of writing and music.

  2. Roger says:

    “I weep your tears – pour yours out to me.”
    Lost me with this part. Interesting though.

    • Atheist Max says:

      Roger, I don’t think God has much interest in your tears.

      “I will bring evil upon you…I will take your wives while you live to see it,
      and I will give them to your neighbor. He shall rape your wives in broad daylight.
      I will force this destruction upon all nations.” (2 Samuel 12:11-14)

      Someday people will be ready to honestly discuss whether this god exists. And why they worship it.

  3. Melody says:

    “I weep your tears – pour yours out to me.” The shortest sentence in the Bible is “Jesus wept” on the occasion of the death of His friend, Lazarus. It is also said that Jesus wept over Jerusalem, and its rejection of him. “Jerusalem, …thou that stonest the prophets…” Jesus was a man like us in all things but sin. The prophet Isaiah foretells him as “…a man of sorrows, acquainted with grief.” We can turn to him in our heartbreaks and he is not a stranger to them.

    • Atheist Max says:

      “Jesus wept.”
      It has always confused me. Why pray to one who could solve a problem but weeps instead? It is not a sort of weeping I understand. I weep at the slaughter of innocent people. If I could save them instead of weeping, I surely would. Is God unable? Then why call him God?

      Some say Jesus was invented from Isaiah
      and other Old Testament texts (like a comet constructed from a fictional tail)
      Who knows? It would explain why so much of Jesus is not original to him:

      “you shall love your neighbor as yourself…” (Leviticus 19:17–18)
      “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your might.” (Deuteronomy 6:4)
      “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” – Psalm 22
      “He trusts in the Lord; let him deliver him!” – Psalm 22
      “they have pierced my hands and feet” – Psalm 22
      “they divide my garments among them,
      and for my clothing they cast lots.” – Psalm 22
      “…I will perform before those who fear him.
      The afflicted shall eat and be satisfied” – Psalm 22
      “All the ends of the earth shall remember
      and turn to the Lord” – Psalm 22
      “he has done it.” – Psalm 22

  4. Melody says:

    Max, my comment was directed more toward Roger. No offense, but you don’t believe in God in the first place so there isn’t any point in arguing with you about wbether he shares our grief and sorrows. If you start from a standpoint of “God doesn’t exist”, then discussion of his qualities is pretty much meaningless.

    • Atheist Max says:

      I only start with unbelief. The Atheist does not claim to know one way or the other whether a god exists, as you implied. We simply don’t believe in a real god – though one may exist.

      The desire to speak with a god or a parent is human nature. It may be nothing more than a parental drive as the biology scientists say. But these claims about what god does (weep, for example) are not helpful. I’m guessing that is what Roger was getting to. But it does give me insight into how gods are invented and how we desire them to be.

      I notice the holy books are not helpful in this regard. “Jesus wept” is a confounding thing.
      But it might just be a re-write of Jeremiah:

      “Let my eyes overflow with tears night and day without ceasing; for the virgin daughter, my people, has suffered a grievous wound, a crushing blow.’” – Yahweh (Jeremiah 14:17)

      As I said, it is not a sort of weeping I understand.

      • Todd says:

        As Melody said, there’s little point in having any sort of discussion with you at all on the topic of religion. It remains my premise that you present yourself as less an atheist and more of an anti-religionist. Why? Because your whole premise–your “schtick” if you will–revolves around the criticism of others’ viewpoints and far less any positive vector of your own. Not all atheists do it that way.

      • Atheist Max says:

        “schtick”

        You imply there is something dishonest about me. Yet – If there is no God we are obligated to find religion immoral:

        1 Corinthians 15:12-19 No Resurrection?
        “But if there is no resurrection of the dead, then not even Christ has been raised. 14 And if Christ has not been raised, then our preaching is futile and your faith is empty. 15 Also, we are found to be false witnesses about God, because we have testified against God that he raised Christ from the dead, when in reality he did not raise him, if indeed the dead are not raised. 16 For if the dead are not raised, then not even Christ has been raised. 17 And if Christ has not been raised, your faith is useless; you are still in your sins. 18 Furthermore, those who have fallen asleep in Christ have also perished. 19 For if only in this life we have hope in Christ, we should be pitied more than anyone.”

        The obligation is on the one who makes the claim.
        Why would an all powerful god weep? It is a fair and honest question free of offensiveness.

Leave a Reply

