On My Bookshelf: Hearts on Fire

hearts on fireThe subtitle is “Praying with Jesuits,” and this book offers that opportunity. Recently, it’s been less a presence on my bookshelf and more tucked with my journal or on my desk.

Those familiar with the Spiritual Exercises will notice it is generally arranged along the four “weeks” or periods. That’s mainly an organizational device. Readers and users need not be doing the Exercises to get benefit from this volume. Not at all.

The prayers are offered in a gamut that touches on the traditional (like the Morning Offering) to modern poetry (like items from Dan Berrigan). My own inclination with the items collected here is to pray the short prayers, reflect on the longer meditations, and skip the poetry. But there’s a lot of variety for a person who is content to take what she or he needs and leave the rest. Many modern authors I recognized from my studies in Ignatian spirituality. I have found some of the material quite useful for a kind of lectio or meditation.

This is a good and recommended resource. The book is small–it can be tucked in a purse or a Bible cover.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in On My Bookshelf, spirituality and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On My Bookshelf: Hearts on Fire

  1. John Donaghy says:

    This is a book I’ve used for many years; it’s on my shelf and on Jesuit feasts I often seek one of the readings. It is well worth using. I’ve never used it as part of an Ignatian retreat but it probably would be very helpful.

  2. One of my favorites too. This one translated by David Fleming has always nourished me.
    http://goo.gl/SXaFG6

Leave a Reply

