Patheos Catholic Imploding?

Anybody who follows that consortium know what’s going down with Patheos? I knew the Anchoress got a job with another media effort. Is she taking all her pet bloggers with her? Mark Shea said he’s just too busy these days to bother with a daily blog of commentary and prayer requests. I think Greg Kandra followed his friend to Aleteia.

Or is it just evolution?

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in The Blogosphere and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Patheos Catholic Imploding?

  1. Liam says:

    I only realized earlier this week that Shea had exited the building. I don’t follow Patheos closely.

    I do think that various subsets of Right-Thinking People(TM) are self-sorting into different rumps (in the sense of purified remnant). Happens at the ends of an ideological spectrum when they are in the doldrums. The left wing went through this a generation ago, but without the burden or benefit of the Internet.

  2. Melody says:

    It seems like blogs have been cycling through a progression of hosting sites; first there was St. Blog’s, then Belief Net (which was kludgy and slow to load, would lock up my computer to the point I would just close out and give up.), then Patheos, and now Aleteia. I liked Patheos because there was everything on there. It is kind of fun to check out different sites; from Mormon to Buddhist to Evangelical; across the spectrum of liberal to conservative. It seems like Aleteia is self sorting, as Liam said. People are taking themselves way too deadly serious.

  3. I don’t know much about Aletia to comment. It could be self-selecting, and I’m sure that is a large part of it.

    On the other hand, maybe is Aletia is a better platform. I would never use blogger again, not for any ideological reasons. I simply think that WordPress is superior.

    *shrug*

Leave a Reply

