The New Catholic/GOP PC

My fb feed page was awash in political stuff earlier this year, especially from my friends in my former state who had an interest in this event. The politics have ramped up again recently. Suddenly some people seem concerned about a real estate mogul running for president, and so far, succeeding in mobilizing caucusers and GOP voters in a number of states.

I’ve been urged to sign on with these folks. Even by my liberal friends. I don’t see why I should, not till the end of the summer.

  1. First, I’m not a Republican.
  2. Mr Trump is not campaigning for president, but for the Top Spot on his party’s presidential ticket. I figure if the Republicans want to nominate a flawed candidate, that’s their business.
  3. I think that Catholics within the Republican Party have been insufficiently vocal when they had good reason to oppose policies, and all too accepting of initiatives and viewpoints when they should have had good reason to oppose with as much vigor as they seem to have for a candidate who, so far, has done nothing in government.

So I think I’m going to continue to view my feed, but without expressing myself with the new facebook approval mechanisms. As my mother used to say, “You messed your bed; now you sleep in it.” If that means the Catholics in the GOP need to work a little harder to recover Catholic cred from the inside, so be it.

From the manifesto:

We understand that many good people, including Catholics, have been attracted to the Trump campaign because the candidate speaks to issues of legitimate and genuine concern:

  • wage stagnation,
  • grossly incompetent governance,
  • profligate governmental spending,
  • the breakdown of immigration law,
  • inept foreign policy,
  • stifling “political correctness” — for starters.

That’s a start. In this starter list, I see Reagan, Bush II twice, everybody twice, and a curious final choice as everybody I see practices political correctness. If the GOP can’t silence someone, they make sure somebody is fired, Rove style.

Mr Trump was not the first to exhibit “vulgarity, oafishness, shocking ignorance, and — we do not hesitate to use the word — demagoguery.” I think of the Bush II-era Republicans with their flag-waving, f-bombing arrogance.

Let’s see who the rest of us are going to vote for when it counts the most. I’m watching the GOP adventure as it plays out.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The New Catholic/GOP PC

  1. Trump. Catholic. as long as he defends religious liberty and defunds PP.He will do what he says. https://therasberrypalace.wordpress.com/2016/03/06/donald-trumps-past-catches-up-with-him/

  2. Liam says:

    Hint: My late dog uses Facebook Purity on his FB page so he can maintain the toggle to “Most Recent” and more toggle to Hide third-party posts passed on by his dozen or so friends….. It helps quiet down the feed.

Leave a Reply

