A Palm Bird

cropped-cs-holy-week-header.jpgI believe in the practice, as much as is possible, of looking for that nudge from the divine. Even at liturgy, that word, phrase, or image–much as we might do with Lectio Divina–might beckon us to go deeper in some way. I told the music people at rehearsals this past week a very busy time is upon us. The best things they can do is breathe and pray. And look for that one moment when God is breaking through.

Before this morning’s eight o’clock Mass, one of my choir members did one of those palm leaf sculptures for me. A bird with a tail and wings. Unbeknownst to them, the bird has great spiritual meaning for me. When I was doing the Ignatian Spiritual Exercises, I often imagined myself as a bird looking at the scenes of the Gospels of Lent.

Unfortunately, three Masses later and no image on my phone, my little bird has disappeared. Perhaps some child was enamored of it. That will be fine.

Images and experiences can be fleeting. Perhaps that is why, in part, we are so eager to capture them on our phones. Even if we gaze on them infrequently, they remain in our pockets and on our persons. There, somewhere.

The Church reserves these readings each year for Holy Week. I don’t feel a need to capture or possess them. I know that when I arrive in Holy Week, I will have my seat, my ears, and my eyes ready for the week. Like a bird.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Holy Week, Liturgy, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

