Readings for Sacraments, End of an Era

Computer_monitorWith yesterday’s Micah 6 posting, I’ve come to the end of the Reconciliation Lectionary series here. It’s a long one, but still a distant third in popularity compared to weddings and funerals.  Those two combined generate at least 90% of the traffic to this site. Some of that is just a quick glance. In and out, as far as I can tell.

I suppose I could do a series on Sunday Mass readings, but there are a lot of other people putting more thought, prayer, and energy into that. I recommend going elsewhere for that.

Another thought is to do readings for ministry to the sick, anointing and Communion. But at this point, I think not.

My foils on the conservative side of Catholicism can take heart, I suppose. Given that ninety-plus percent figure, it doesn’t seem I’m poisoning that many young minds or seducing them away from orthodoxy.

For the first time in a decade, there is no active series here at CS. Maybe that will change tomorrow and some form of dialogue will continue. Who knows? Discernment is still open-ended regarding this site. Once-a-day posts and occasionally a number two have continued. Maybe that’s my sense of not wanting to break a record of several hundred days in a row of scheduling something on this site.

I think it’s safe to say that when I do shutter this place, there won’t be another blogger taking over. If you visit someday and find that the wedding and funeral pages are anchored on the main site, you’ll know I’ve decided to go on hiatus.

The landscape of blogging sure has changed since Facebook, Twitter, and the Elections of 2008 and 2013.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Commentary. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Readings for Sacraments, End of an Era

  1. Liam says:

    There’s a season for everything, but you’ve used your not-yet-concluded season well thus far. I do think that the enduring work here is that systematic – and connected – engagement of the postconciliar ritual books and the preconciliar, conciliar and postconciliar context for them (covering Pope St Pius X and noticing the back-stitching of how Trent’s uncompleted work threaded into Vatican II was a particular favorite of mine, by the way).

    Let’s not have any valedictories yet.

    It may be that you need time off this topical-type treadmill in order to create a space for inspiration. (For me at least, I find that I often find my inspirations in the things that distract me, even – and sometimes *especially* in distractions from prayer!; it seems to be my contemplative way, but not necessarily that of anyone else.)

    Patience can be rewarded.

  2. Jim McCrea says:

    Obviously tomorrow’s “exhortation” will be grist for discussion for weeks to come!

  3. Devin says:

    If you decide to do the new papal document, wonderful. But there are more important things than blogging, or the internet. However, if you do decide to do another series, may I suggest doing more than one paragraph at time depending on the theme, perhaps two or three. The slow onset of paragraph by paragraph at times almost felt like being stoned to death by popcorn.

Leave a Reply

