Off To Retreat

St Martin Abbey GuesthouseI’ve been away from the blog before, so y’all know the drill. Play nice, especially with FrM. Amoris Laetitia posts all set up for the coming week, so tune in around 4am Pacific daylight time for the daily feed.

If you’ve been following me on Facebook, you know my mother has been hospitalized for over a week. Dizzy spell, fall, break, orthopedic surgery, an uncontrolled aortic aneurysm, and some complications from all that. I wasn’t sure if I was going to be postponing my visit to St Martin’s Abbey. The other morning my sister related mom’s comment as she was sitting up, eating breakfast and quite alert, “Y’all thought I was going to kick the bucket. But I tricked you.”

On that note, I think I can get away with few concerns in the outside world. I can feel physical fatigue these days. Maybe just getting older. More likely a long and productive year in ministry, plus those family concerns. I missed my retreat last summer, so this will be a welcome time of extended prayer.

My last two retreats at Benedictine abbeys have been very rich and grace-filled. But I always head into such times with the advice given by the Trappist guestmaster on my very first retreat: leave all agendas behind and be open to God.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Off To Retreat

  1. Olivier says:

    What a lovely place. I used to go there for mass or vespers 20+ years ago when I was a student at the other college across town. I went there again a lot early this past November when I was back home in WA for my mother’s funeral. Good guys.

Leave a Reply

