The Second Jesuit

pierre favreToday (or yesterday if you are reading this in the Eastern US or hemisphere) is the feast of Pierre Favre. This prayer on the Ignatian Spirituality website, good for more than just the second day of August:

I beg of you, my Lord,
to remove anything which separates
me from you, and you from me.

Remove anything that makes me unworthy
of your sight, your control, your reprehension;
of your speech and conversation,
of your benevolence and love.

Cast from me every evil
that stands in the way of my seeing you,
hearing, tasting, savoring, and touching you;
fearing and being mindful of you;
knowing, trusting, loving, and possessing you;
being conscious of your presence

and, as far as may be, enjoying you.
This is what I ask for myself
and earnestly desire from you.

Amen.

According to the founder, Fr Favre was the best of the early Jesuits at leading people in the Spiritual Exercises. Image is from friend Crystal’s site from about ten years ago. Have we really been blogging that long?

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Saints and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

