Totality: A Year From Today

solar eclipseA total solar eclipse is certainly on my bucket list.

A year from today I will be off from parish duty and driving south into Oregon to see something I’ve wanted to see since I was a little boy.

I’ve seen a lot of things through telescopes, but this time all I’ll need to do is look up. Clouds parting, I sure hope.

I did catch an annular eclipse in Michigan in 1994. How did I observe? I cross hatched my fingers and projected multiple images on the ground. More popular than the guy next to me who had welder shades.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Astronomy. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Totality: A Year From Today

  1. Liam says:

    I remember March 1970.

  2. Todd says:

    I do too. My mom made us all stay in the house with the blinds shut so nobody would be tempted to look up at the sun.

  3. Liam says:

    Around now, we in the Northern Hemisphere leave the four brightest months of the year, and enter two months of rapid diminution of the solar path (azimuths at sunrise and sunset, and zenith at solar noon), until we enter the four darkest months of the year, to exit those around Washington’s Birthday observed holiday. Rather that four seasons of equal length, it’s truer to nature in the temperate regions to think of them unequally: 4-2-4-2. In the eastern 2/3 of the lower 48 US states, the land temperature pattern lags the solar pattern by 4-6 weeks (varies), and the sea surface temperature lags that another few weeks – for example, eastern seaboard ocean temps are coming to their seasonal maximum now.

Leave a Reply

