2 Capos

2-caposLots of guitar players have more capos than instruments. Unlike most rock gods, I have only one guitar. So I don’t have multiple instruments in alternate tunings ready to go from the roadie’s hand.

Here’s my solution for drop-G tuning when the tune is in B-flat. And I don’t want to twang-twang during the liturgy. Came in useful last night for the last song at the Spanish-language Mass.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Music. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2 Capos

  1. Liam says:

    Being unfamiliar with guitar practice, I am curious: how frequently do guitarists transpose by sight?

    • Todd says:

      Some of us have the ability. I often do for the Spanish-language liturgy. Not being the leader gives me the freedom to concentrate on music. We also have two other guitarists, so I often play different inversions up the neck or with a capo. The capo allows for simplified chord fingerings. It also takes advantage of open notes and a better resonance on the strings.

  2. Atheist Max says:

    I love my capo. But I never tried two at a time. Thanks for that.
    Great for Godspell (my favorite musical) since my voice hasn’t the range it had 20 years ago.

Leave a Reply

