Praying With Music Ministries: Rehearsals

healing-mass-22nov16Those who sing pray twice, according to Saint Augustine.

When I arrived at my new parish two years ago, I was advised that the choir likes to pray, and expects to pray. My predecessors set a good tone, it seemed to me.

Over the months, we’ve settled into a good pattern, I think. The two weekly rehearsals each have a sign-up list. Members may sign up to lead prayer at the very start of practice. I keep a list about two months in advance and try to remind people as we get to the bottom of the column of names. I tell them it was be as simple as two words. Something like “Our Father,” and everybody clearly knows what comes next. It can be more involved–a Scripture reading, a saint’s testimony, a poen, or a page from a devotional book. Their choice.

At the end of our time, I lead. I offer a brief invitation, and here the members really get into intercessory prayer. By name they mention people who are sick, travelling, in the family, or the parish at large. Sometimes this goes on as long as six or seven minutes. This is fine. The names and causes mentioned are not just filler.

For myself, I’ve come to a new acceptance of and appreciation for intercessory prayer. I value the good spiritual foundation set by the two women who served these people before I came into the picture. I hope you readers have similar experiences in your music ministries.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Liturgical Music, Ministry, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

