Not Responding As Expected

I was struck by this Commonweal piece and the citation from Antoine Leiris, author of You Will Not Have My Hate. M. Leiris picked up slack from those who accused him “of insufficient patriotism or of being too blasé about justice and security.”

They see me as someone weak who accepts terrorism, who says there is no problem. That is untrue…You want to bring me to my knees? No, I will stand and not respond as you want me to respond.

I think this is just right, and a right sentiment for Holy Week. Jesus does not respond as we want him to respond. He didn’t stay away from Jerusalem, as at least one of his disciples requested. He didn’t defend himself, so as to assuage the consciences of indifferent authorities. He did not call down fire with James at one side and John at the other.

I think the basic posture of the Christian disciple attempting to carry her or his cross daily, is not to respond as others expect.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Holy Week. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

