On Psalm 71

I don’t think I’ve mentioned this psalm in my years of blogging. It appears in today’s Roman Lectionary. It might be something of a prelude to Good Friday, as it borrows the first three verses of Psalm 31 for its own.

As I was reading various accounts of that passenger wounded and forcibly removed from that plane, I was struck by verse 4:

My God, rescue me from the hand of the wicked,
from the clutches of the evil and violent.

There are deep concerns in the homeland these days about abuse, violence, and mistreatment at the hands of authorities. Thank goodness we have the ease of use of social media, or incidents like these would not be brought into the full light of day.

Psalm 71 goes a bit deeper. Does verse 9 look to a future?

Do not cast me aside in my old age;
as my strength fails, do not forsake me.

Verses 18-19 seems to confirm this is a song of an elderly person:

Now that I am old and gray,
do not forsake me, God,
That I may proclaim your might
to all generations yet to come,
Your power
and justice, God,
to the highest heaven.
You have done great things;
O God, who is your equal?

The readings of Holy Week–the Suffering Servant Songs, the Kenosis canticle, the Passion accounts–these rightly draw our attention and regard. But the Psalms of Holy Week have their own power and invite serious contemplation. May you readers have a powerful experience with this week’s liturgies and prayers.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Holy Week, Scripture. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On Psalm 71

  1. Liam says:

    I think of Psalm 88 this week:

    https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm+88&version=RSVCE

    My father has started hospice care and it’s been a busy octave of days thus far, but with more hope than Psalm 88 would *seem* to indicate *on its surface* (but of course presumes foundationally).

Leave a Reply

