What’s Ahead

As you can read, I’m “back.”

My retreat from blogging vaguely aligned with Lent. That wasn’t necessarily intentional. I had planned to work on other aspects of my writing, hobby and professional. But then I got a good piece of advice for aspiring authors: start a blog.

Oops.

Checking my site stats, March was the most popular month here since last August. Go figure. Like most conservative internet Catholics, it appears that people looking for wedding and funeral assistance don’t care if I’m active or not. They will ignore or search the content offered here respectively regardless.

I’m still looking to branch out further in a new area or two of writing. That will continue off-site here. I have a new idea for a musical theatre piece which is probably way bigger than anything I’ve yet imagined. There’s one and probably two Bible-based musicals to compose before I get to it.

These days I’m most excited because the twenty-five songs for Ruth: The Path of Loyalty are complete, and I have the three leads engaged (Ruth, Naomi, and Boaz) plus a few singers for the chorus. All vocal parts are scored, and part-writing for instruments (flute, clarinet, violin, cello) is coming along. Before I assemble a team for an all-out production, I’m testing the music later this summer in a concert-only presentation. If I get some good recordings, I may post them on this site or on YouTube.

I’ve picked up a regular writing gig and I’m hoping to find a few more. But this Lent I found that writing and blogging don’t excite me as much as the notion of conceiving, structuring, and composing for bigger things. I can meet deadlines and produce competent material for periodicals. But I don’t feel passionate about that. I’d rather do liturgy and/or music–especially as part of a team–than write about it.

That said, I will take some space on this site to look at a few more documents. We’ve looked at the Rite of Marriage here before. I may highlight differences with the new Order of Celebrating Matrimony. I don’t plan a bit-by-bit examination.

The USCCB’s document, Sing To The Lord: Music In Divine Worship is also on the docket. Here too I won’t be reproducing paragraph by paragraph. One, I don’t feel the energy for organizing a few hundred posts. Two, unlike other USCCB documents we have examined here, I have not received permission to reproduce the bishops’ copyrighted text. I didn’t really get a reason, just a “please, don’t.” Interpret that as you will.

I plan to take a serious look at that recent declaration on music, Cantate Domino. You’ve seen it at CMAA and NLM perhaps. It has some heartfelt and sincere aspirations. Some good vectors for sacred music too. But like many utterances from the culturewar, it suffers from a fatal flaw: a significant misdiagnosis of the real world.

So there you have it. Any suggestions for writing or topics, you can contact me by email. Just decipher it from the sidebar on the right there. And by the way, I’ll be treating commenters a little more strictly from here on out. My friend Dick has been banned. I don’t mind a blog post going off topic in the comments. But an unwillingness to engage won’t be tolerated. When I tried to communicate through the email registered to that person, no response was forthcoming.

So, that’s what’s ahead.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in The Blogosphere. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

