The Other Side of the Clouds

One of my earliest memories is a rare religious discussion with my mother. I may have been four or five. Looking up at puffy clouds on a mostly sunny day, I asked her if God lived on the other side of those clouds and if that was where we could find heaven.

I clearly recall her answer. No, she said, God is spirit and lives everywhere. Heaven is not in the clouds.

My mom was a Baptist for most of her life. I don’t know if that kind of “spiritual” answer was typical, or my mother was a bit unusual in her approach to religion. Usually when I asked a religious question of her, she would say something about faith being a private and personal matter and not something open for ordinary discussion. Of course, my family was pretty mixed up speaking religiously. Dad claimed to be a Presbyterian. His mother was Jewish. My siblings and I were baptized in a Catholic church in 1970. My older brother was Lutheran, then served as an Episcopal deacon in the years before his death. No wonder not much religion was discussed, eh?

Anybody else reading who have early childhood memories of spiritual explorations?

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

