Music For The Sprinkling Rite: On The Day Of My Resurrection

The second of five options for the Easter season Sprinkling Rite is a mash-up of two prophets, Zephaniah (3:8) and Ezekiel (36:25). At first, I wasn’t sure this was a suitable blending, but after doing a bit of research, I think the Lent to Easter, repentance to hope theme is fitting. Thing is, I was unable to surface any settings of this antiphon. Maybe you readers will have better luck. Even Reform2 sources, anyone?

Zephaniah in 3:8 may not have been speaking of “resurrection” as such; in the passage the Lord God arises as an accuser or witness to the destruction of gathered nations–not really what the gathering of liturgy is about. At least in its entirety.

The attachment of the brief passage from Ezekiel (think Easter Vigil if you do more than the minimal readings) put the assembling of the peoples in a different context. We are not on pilgrimage to a condemnation, but to an event of mercy. Here’s how the Missal words the whole piece:

On the day of my resurrection, says the Lord, alleluia,
I will gather the nations and assemble the kingdoms
and I will pour clean water upon you, alleluia.

These verses from 26-28 of Ezekiel 36 seem suitable for a cantor or choir:

I will give you a new heart,
and a new spirit I will put within you.

I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh
and give you a heart of flesh.

I will put my spirit within you so that you walk in my statutes,
observe my ordinances, and keep them.

You will live in the land I gave to your ancestors;
you will be my people, and I will be your God.

These would probably be enough to cover a presider walking through a large church and sprinkling. Any composers feeling inspired?

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Liturgical Music and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Music For The Sprinkling Rite: On The Day Of My Resurrection

  1. Pingback: Music For The Sprinkling Rite: You Springs | Catholic Sensibility

Leave a Reply

