Girls For Eagle

I’ve seen a few things on social media today about the decision to have females in what was known as “Boy Scouts.”

I was once active in the Scouting movement and I have mixed feelings on this development. I recognize the principle that separate is not often equal, and perhaps it is felt that markers in Girl Scout achievement are not as demanding as that for boys. My sister and I were active Scouts at the same time, and I remember feeling glad the standards for my ranks and badges seemed harder.

One of my women friends in social media commented this is not so in comparing the Gold Award to the Eagle rank.

That said, I’ve come to reconsider separate formation opportunities for males and females in adolescence. Separate may not always be equal, but separate is optimal in some ways. Maybe most ways.

Speaking of opportunities, I believe young people can be pushed and challenged in healthy ways to excel and achieve. Often, the results are surprising to adults. Character-building for the achievers.

Consider me a neutral but interested observer on this initiative.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in the Pacific Northwest, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Commentary and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Girls For Eagle

  1. what do you think is the underlying impetus for this move? can’t afford to be neutral on the initiative.There is an agenda. #Woke #RedPilled

  2. Todd says:

    The underlying impetus: courtesy.

Leave a Reply

