Potato Salad Remembrances

No photo description available.I was reminiscing over lunch about my mother’s potato salad. My older brother tried to pry the recipe details out of her. She was always evasive about it with him.

The only thing we ever got out of her was to use one hard-boiled egg for each medium red potato. It really becomes an egg and potato salad.

My brother asked me if I had any better luck with her on spices and herbs. I related when I added freshly baked bacon to the recipe and told her about it. There was momentary silence on her end of the phone call. “I never put bacon in my salad,” she said.

When I checked my sister’s social media feed a bit later this afternoon, there was the picture of me with my brother, above. And a potato salad of his making with our mom’s telltale paprika and dill.

It struck me that potatoes, eggs, and bacon is just about the perfect breakfast. A judicious use of matched seasonings, and one can’t go wrong.

Hold the mustard, though.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in Minnesota, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Food, My Family. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Potato Salad Remembrances

  1. Tom McClusky says:

    This is a great story and picture of you”3″.

    I would only take issue with the last sentence, but to each and so forth…

    Be well! Love to Anita and Brit!

    ✌️

  2. liam0781 says:

    If your family normally had a jar of dill pickles in the refrigerator, some tablespoons of the juice from that jar may have been ladled over the hot potatoes to replace some or all of the vinegar. Pickle juice is typically used in deli-style potato salads and macaroni salads, normally added while the starches are still hot. Also very common is the use of ground celery seed (which provided umami).

Leave a comment