Of Gerhard Lohfink

Three-quarter profile of a clean-shaven man with spectacles and receding hair, in suit and tie, in the act of talking.I learned that one of my favorite spiritual authors has died. I confess it took me a few years to digest his outstanding book Jesus of Nazareth (reviewed here).

This reminds me we live in such a rich time of spiritual thinking. When I wondered where to place this book when I finished it: in the spirituality section or with the tomes of dogmatic theology, I chose the former. 

Others will follow in such footsteps, I am sure. But now I feel a sadness, though I never sat in the man’s classroom, and only read one book.

About catholicsensibility

Todd lives in Minnesota, serving a Catholic parish as a lay minister.
This entry was posted in Church News, spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment